Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Requirements

Get Your Salesperson or Broker License

Real estate licenses are essential for anyone looking to enter the real estate industry in Hawaii as a professional. These licenses are issued by the state government and are required to legally represent buyers and sellers in property transactions.

Once obtained, the license holder must adhere to a strict code of ethics and comply with the State of Hawaii regulations in order to maintain their license. Real estate licenses come in different forms, such as a salesperson license or a broker license, depending on the level of responsibility and experience required. Overall, obtaining a real estate license demonstrates a commitment to professionalism and knowledge of the industry, which can ultimately benefit both the licensee and their clients.

Salesperson License

  • Age of Majority
  • Citizen of U.S. or alien authorized to work in U.S.
  • High School Diploma or its equivalent
  • Successfully complete a 60-hour classroom course; OR successfully complete the Online or Hard Copy Independent Study Course; OR successfully complete the NEW Classroom/Home Study Combo Course (in place of the 60-hour classroom program)
  • Receive a Certificate of Completion for any of the above courses
  • Sit for and pass Hawaii Real Estate Salespersons exam. (70% in both State and National sections). May be taken at exam sites in states other than Hawaii.

*If you are not sure if you are eligible to become a Salesperson due to prior felonies, misdemeanors, tax obligations or other, click here to see the “Preliminary Decision” notice from the Real Estate Commission.

Broker License

  • Currently licensed as real estate salesperson working full time for three of the past five years prior to examination.
  • Experience Certificate approved by the real estate commission.
  • Successful completion of either Independent Study Course (Evidenced by Certificate of Completion).
  • Successfully pass State exam (75% score in both State and National sections).

Out-of-State Licensee

  • Must have current, active real estate license in your state (must show evidence).
  • Find Hawaii Licensing Forms at Hawaii Real Estate Commission website..
  • Print out: Prelicense Education Equivalency Application, and National Section Equivalency Application (follow the directions)..
  • Must be granted waiver from mandatory classroom education and 80-question National Section of state exam..
  • Exam Prep Kit (see Courses) is all you need to prepare for 50-question State Law Section of the salesperson or Broker exam.

Exam in Two Sections

1. State Law section…50 questions
2. National section…80 questions

  • Applicant has 4 hours to sit for test
  • If either section is not passed with the required score, only that section must be retaken to pass. May be retaken any time after 2-day wait, within 2 years of passing one section of the examination
  • After successfully passing exam, applicant has 2 years to apply for the Salesperson or Broker’s license
  • All exams are given daily except Sunday and Monday on Oahu, and often the 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month on neighbor islands (call PSI Exams at 1-855-579-4640 as exam dates may change)
  • Exam Fee $61.00, payable by credit card or electronic check